Ventures Scholar Forums

Forums intended to discuss science and math education and all topics related.

You are not logged in.

#1 2009-12-14 18:59:58

abaez
Administrator

Questions & Sugggestions

As a college graduate, I thought to extend my knowledge of the college experience from getting ready for applications to selecting a graduate school.  Moreover, as a coordinator at VSP, I can give you tips on the best way to use the services or best practice for college enrollment.  Scholars can also share their admissions knowledge on this forum so feel free to ask your questions or leave comments/suggestions!

Good luck in your educational endeavors!
Amy

#2 2009-12-14 21:29:50

MetzBannister

Re: Questions & Sugggestions

Hi Amy,
I'm applying to Yale, Norhwestern, the University of Illinois at Urbana, and the University of Chicago this year, for admission in the fall of 2010. What steps should I take to insure that the admissions officers do not overlook my status as a Ventures Scholar?

Thank you in advance for your time and help,
Chyna

#3 2009-12-15 13:54:06

abaez
Administrator

Hi Chyna,

You definitely want to notify these institutions of your intention to apply for admissions using the inquiry forms.  The fact that you are using the inquiry form will inform the Admissions Officer that you are a Ventures Scholar.  This practice will benefit you since it will bring your application to the Officers attention on receipt.  On occassion, an institution has been known to contact a Ventures Scholar or the VSP offices to request the scholars' certificate in order to provide the applying scholar a missed opportunity (e.g., tuition reduction, scholarship).